Northwood Town Cricket Club Saturday 2nd XI v Flitwick III on Sat 08 May 2021 at 12:00 pm
Northwood Town Cricket Club Lost by 6 wickets

Match report Town 2nd XI welcomed Flitwick 3rd XI for the season opener game.  With rains overnight, some work on the outfield had to be done to start the game. Thankfully under the guidelines and supervision of the 2 qualified umpires, conditions were improved and a reduced match was agreed to be played.
Town lost the toss and were asked to bat on a pitch that looked pretty decent given the weather.

Town openers Gairola & Verma got into the groove early on and gave town a flying start by scoring 40 runs in the 1st 5 overs. Verma specially looked fluent but unfortunately could not carry on and got out in the 6th over leaving scoreline 43/1. Halai couldn't get going and got run out unfortunately. Promoted up the order to keep the flow going, Janardhan walked in and played a crisp drive before getting out. From there on Town lost wickets on a regular interval without any real partnership. Aggarwal played a cameo of 19 runs but he too couldn't convert the start into a big one like some other batsman. Anjum and Ramawat halted the wickets but runs were hard to come by. Towards the end, town got all out in the last over with 115 on board. They believed they were short by 15/20 runs given the start they had.

Quick 5 minute break and Town were back in the field. New ball was shared by Patel and debutant Puspanathan. They both bowled beautifully and were rewarded with a wicket each. At the end of the 7th over Flitwick were 2/26. Bowling change got Aggarwal and Anjum into the attach and Anjum bowled with great control and kept the one end tight giving hardly anything. At the end of the 15th over, Flitwick were 53/3, still needing 60+ from the final 10 overs. What town needed from there on was same discipline from the bowlers and fields that they had demonstrated till then. Unfortunately for town, wickets in hands and some loose bowling by Town, Flitwick went on charge and scored with a run rate of 6+ in the next 8 overs. Couple of close run out calls were asked but Town were not luck enough. Finally a breakthrough did came in the form of another run-out call but it was too little too late. Flitwick needed 6 runs in the last over with 6 wickets in hand, which they did score comfortably. 

Massive thanks to everyone, including match officials who worked hard to flag ECB's #GetTheGameOn mantra high. Well done to the team for putting up such a great effort. Make no mistake, this Flitwick team showed very high standards & calibre and would definitely be one of the top teams in our div this year. We know where we slipped and we work on them and move to another tough game next week.

Onwards & Upwards!


Northwood Town Cricket Club Saturday 2nd XI Batting
Player Name RunsMB4s6sSRCtStRo
1nb 1w 2b 5lb 
for 10 wickets

(24.3 overs)
Deepak Gairola st b S.Rashid 30 33 3 2 90.91
Karan Verma ct b M. Panteman 26 15 3 1 173.33
Jesant Halai Run out  1 4 25.00
Harish Janardhanan b M. Panteman 6 5 1 120.0
Rahul Aggarwal b M. Coplin 19 15 4 126.67
Iqbal Anjum ct b R. Wing 6 14 42.86 1
Ravi Ramawat ct b N. Wing 8 18 44.44
Pratik Patel b b N. Wing 4 11 36.36
Thinooach Puspanathan ct & b M. Panteman 2 6 33.33
Saravanan Subbiah run out (Sold down the river by Pandey) 1 2 50.0
Pradip Pandey Not Out  0 1 0

Flitwick III Bowling

Player nameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
R. Wing5.0118118.003.60
N. Wing4.3030215.006.67
M. Panteman5.002438.004.80
S. Rashid5.0021121.004.20
M. Coplin5.0013113.002.60

Flitwick III Batting
Player name RMB4s6sSR
2nb 4w 2lb 
for 4 wickets
116 (24.4 overs)
R. Timms b P. Patel 9
S. Pitkin b T. pushpanathan 3
L. Smith run out (I. Anjum/R. Aggarwal) 49
C. Benton ct & b I. Anjum 7
C. Edwards Not Out  38
M. Pateman Not Out  0
S. Rashid  

Northwood Town Cricket Club Saturday 2nd XI Bowling

Player NameOversMaidensRunsWicketsAverageEconomy
Pratik Patel5.0017117.003.40
Thinooach Puspanathan3.0013113.004.33
Rahul Aggarwal5.002700.005.40
Iqbal Anjum5.0110110.002.00
Harish Janardhanan4.002300.005.75
Pradip Pandey1.001000.0010.00
Karan Verma2.001700.008.50